# THE INTERNATIONAL GLYCOCONJUGATE ORGANIZATION

The International Glycoconjugate Organization has come into being in order to formalise the links between the International Glycoconjugate Symposia, the International Carbohydrate Symposia and the International Union of Biochemistry (IUB). The organising bodies of both these Symposia nominate a common representative, who is Chairman of the Carbohydrate Interest Group of the IUB. In this way, the IUB is kept informed of developments on the carbohydrate and glycoconjugate front. In return, the IUB sponsors both of these biennial Symposia.

The following constitution was approved at the meeting of the Glycoconjugate Steering Committee that took place during the 10th International Symposium on Glycoconjugates, in Jerusalem on September 10th, 1989.

# Constitution

# 1. Aim

The aim of the International Glycoconjugate Organization is to further international collaboration for the study of glycoconjugates. In particular, a major effort of the organization shall be to ensure the proper arrangement of the biennial International Glycoconjugate Symposia.

# 2. Relationship to IUB

The International Glycoconjugate Organization and International Carbohydrate Organization are the two subgroups which constitute the "Carbohydrate and Glycoconjugate Interest Group" of the International Union of Biochemistry (IUB). Both subgroups nominate a common representative to the IUB as chairman of the interest group. Through the connection with the interest group, official IUB sponsorship is warranted.

# 3. Membership

The International Glycoconjugate Organization shall be constituted of National Representatives, Past Presidents and Co-opted Members.

# (a) National Representatives

Each country having centres of activity in glycoconjugate (bio)chemistry may, after ratification by the International Glycoconjugate Organization, appoint one National Representative. Such a representative must be officially elected or designated by a responsible national (bio)chemical organization of that country. Members who retire from active scientific work shall not be eligible to continue service as National Representatives.

# (b) Past Presidents

This category comprises all past presidents of the International Glycoconjugate Organization and, before its inception, presidents of earlier Symposia.

# (c) Co-opted Members

On proposal by a member of the International Glycoconjugate Organization, a person considered to be able to provide valuable assistance may be co-opted to membership during the biennial meeting of the International Glycoconjugate Organization, subject to prior approval by the membership.

#### (d) New Members

New National Representatives may be added when centres of glycoconjugate research develop in countries not yet having membership of the International Glycoconjugate Organization.

# 4. Officers

# (a) President and President-elect

The President of the International Glycoconjugate Organization shall be the National Representative who organized the most recent International Glycoconjugate Symposium. The President-elect shall be the National Representative of the country which will be host for the next International Glycoconjugate Symposium. The President and President-elect shall take office commencing from the conclusion of an International Symposium and serve until the end of the next International Glycoconjugate Symposium.

#### (b) Secretary

The International Glycoconjugate Organization shall elect one of its National Representatives or Co-opted Members to act as Secretary. The secretary shall serve for four calendar years and will commence his term of office in the interim year of the President's term so that President and Secretary shall not take office in the same year. Election of the Secretary shall take place at the biennial meeting immediately preceding the end of the term of office of the incumbent Secretary.

#### 5. Notice of Meetings

After consultation with the President-elect (host) the Secretary shall ensure that the Agenda reaches all members of the IGO at least one month prior to the Organization meeting, which will take place during the biennial Glycoconjugate Symposia.

# 6. Decisions

#### (a) Voting

National Representatives, Past Presidents, and the Secretary may vote on all matters. The Chairman of the meeting (normally the President, but in the absence of the President a member elected by the organization), shall not normally vote, but in the event of an equally divided organization the Chairman shall have the casting vote.

# (b) Proxy

In the event of a National Representative being unable to attend a meeting of the International Glycoconjugate Organization he/she may nominate another person from the same country to represent the glycoconjugate (bio)chemists of that country. Proxy representatives shall have full voting rights.

#### (c) Quorum

The decisions made by the International Glycoconjugate Organization shall not be binding unless more that 50% of the organization members are present at the meeting. Non-quorum decisions may subsequently be ratified by a postal ballot among the absentee organization members.

# 7. The International Glycoconjugate Symposia

#### (a) Timing

An International Glycoconjugate Symposium will be held every second year, alternating with the International Carbohydrate Symposia.

#### (b) Venue

The venue shall be decided by the International Glycoconjugate Organization with due weight given to geographical variation.

#### (c) Organizers

The National Representative from the country that will host the next International Glycoconjugate Symposium shall become President-elect of the International Glycoconjugate Organization and will be responsible for the organization of the Symposium.

# Current Members of The International Glycoconjugate Organization

#### President

N Sharon, Israel

#### **Past Presidents**

E. A. Davidson, U.S.A. R. C. Hughes, U.K. R. W. Jeanloz, U.S.A. B. Lindberg, Sweden J. Montreuil, France R. Schauer, W. Germany T. Yamakawa, Japan

#### Secretary

M. A. Chester, Sweden.

# President Elect

H Schachter, Canada

#### National Representatives

J, Cabezas, Spain M. C. Glick, U.S.A. J. Järnefelt, Finland A. Kobata, Japan J. Koscielak, Poland G. Tettamanti, Italy J. F. G. Vliegenthart, The Netherlands (Chairman, IUB Interest Group)